Australian College of Commerce and Management Blog

News Awards For Students

My Gateway Awards 2016

My Gateway Awards 2016

On Friday 11th of November MG My Gateway held their 20th Annual Apprentice and Trainee Awards at Campbelltown Catholic Club.


Being one of the biggest providers of traineeships in NSW, ACCM was proud to sponsor the event which recognises the hard work and dedication that the apprentices, trainees and host employers demonstrate throughout their studies.  


ACCM employees, Sherre Brown, Larraine Brown, Melissa Draper and Brett Riddett were among the 300 visitors and finalists who were treated to a very well presented evening.


The night began with a speech from My Gateway’s Chairman, Robert Rofe who praised the hard work of all the finalists. It was also an opportunity for Robert Rofe to announce that, moving forward, they will be known as simply “My Gateway” with a rebrand and a brand new website that you can check out here



There was success for one ACCM student on the night. 

Ricky Prasad MyGateway IT Trainee of the Year winner 2016

ACCM student, Ricky Prasad, won Information Technology Trainee of the Year. 

Ricky is currently completing his Certificate III in Information, Digital Media and Technology with the College and was recognised for his high work ethic and his willingness to improve himself. 

Ricky was accompanied to the awards with 2 of his work colleagues and the Mayor of Liverpool, Wendy Waller. This is another great example of how employers and colleagues are a key part of any trainee’s success and how their input and support helps a trainee succeed in their studies and career.


Commiserations to the three ACCM students who were finalists in the fiercely contested category of  Local Government Trainee of the Year Award. Alana Begovic, Jack Rooke and Jodie Skidmore are all currently completing the Certificate III in Business with host employer, Camden Council.

The Winner of the category was Emily Langford who is studying a Certificate III in Business Administration with host employer Wollondilly Shire Council. Runner up in the category was another Wollondilly Shire Council trainee, Kayla Abela.


If you would like to talk to us about traineeships or any of our other training services, please get in touch – or call us on 1300 515 321.



Below is a list of all categories, finalists and winners:


Indigenous Student of the Year


Matthew Whitehouse (winner)


Childcare Trainee of the Year


Cassie Gorst (winner)


Information Technology Trainee of the Year


Ricky Prasad (Winner)


Library Trainee of the Year


Penelope Revell (winner)


Local government Trainee of the Year


Alana Begovic

Emily Langford (winner)

Jack Rooke

Jodie Skidmore

Kayla Abela (runner-up)

Megan Cataldo


Private Sector Trainee of the Year


Aidan McDowell

Amy Denniss

Matilda Costigan (winner)


1st Year Apprentice of the Year


Brendan Dawson (winner)

Brendan Orridge

Matthew Micallef


2nd Year Apprentice of the Year


Daniel Nessi (winner)

Jarrod Bartley

Rachael D’Aran


3rd Year Apprentice of the Year


Joshua Hornery (winner)

Kyle Winn

Mu Lay Loh Taw


4th Year Apprentice of the Year


Cameron Cleary

Curtis Relf

Darren Lusty (winner)


Host Employer of the Year


Belgenny Farm

E-TECH Group

Precision Valve Australia (winner)


Trainee of the Year


Emily Langford


Apprentice of the Year


Joshua Hornery